= Menu

ACUPUNCTURE | CHINESE HERBAL MEDICINE | MANUAL THERAPY

Testimonials

ACNE
Testimonials - Testimonials -

Testimonials - Above: Dec 2016

Testimonials - Above: Apr 2017

Testimonials - Testimonials -
Dec 2016                                                                                     Apr 2017

Testimonials - Testimonials -
Dec 2016                                                                             Apr 2017

FIBROMYALGIA
I found Alexa after a diagnosis from my doctor of fibromyalgia. The doctor's suggestion was to get on a regime of anti-depressants. This made no sense to me, as my body was in pain, not my mind. Unwilling to go that route, a friend of mine had mentioned that she saw an acupuncturist on a regular basis. This was foreign territory for me, but I was also open to something other than Western diagnosis and medications. I walked into Alexa's office on a cold winter day, and gave her a bit of my recent history; after a thirty year marriage, I found myself divorced. And I was in pain. Getting out of bed was painful. My elbows hurt. My feet hurt. Now, on the outside, I was sure that I was dealing with the drastic changes in my life just fine. Clearly, my insides thought differently. Alexa took the time to listen, understand, and wanted to help me heal whatever it was that was ailing me. Through acupuncture, and definitely her demeanor, she helped me to release a world of hurt. No anti-depressants. No conventional medications. After about six or seven sessions I finally felt well enough so that I began a weight lifting/strength building regime…three days a week, no less. This would never had been possible six months ago…six months ago I could barely get out of bed in the morning, walking caused pain and my posture had become horrible. This isn't magic, this isn't 'new age', this is the power of acupuncture on a wounded soul, empowering the body's natural balance and regaining its rhythm. Thank you, Alexa, for literally getting this lady back on her feet.
-KR, March 2017

SHOULDER PAIN, GENERAL WELLNESS
I had actually given up hope that I would ever be able to lift weights again.  One day while doing my workout, I did something to my shoulder that severely limited my movement.  It came on suddenly and nothing I did helped to relieve the mysterious pain that made it impossible to lift anything above my head.

I had actually given up hope of ever being able to work out again and resigned myself to the fact that I was going to have to get old and fat.

Alexa told me on my first visit that it wasn’t the case and that she could do something for me.  I was surprised, but willing to give it a go.

Over a period 2 months or so, she used a variety of treatments on me, always checking to see how I was progressing and which of the treatments seemed to alleviate the discomfort most.  We finally settled on the best course of action and as a result I regained 100 percent of my mobility.  We have since addressed some other ailments that I had just attributed to “not being 20 anymore” and gotten rid of those as well.

I am so happy with my results that Alexa and I have a standing monthly appointment to keep my body running smoothly, sort of like my 3000 mile check-up.

I look forward to my appointments because she is genuinely interested in me and in my progress.  She always listens and always addresses whatever it is that I bring to her.

It is wonderful to have such a caring professional who is devoted to her craft who takes the time to contribute to my life and happiness.

I feel very fortunate to have found her.
-CM Feb 2017

MIGRAINE, STOMACH PAIN, ANXIETY
I want you to know how much you have done for me.  You are the ONE health practitioner in which I have complete faith and I think you are the only person I've ever felt this way about - you really care, you listen, you seriously know your stuff and you have tremendous confidence and so I cannot help but feel the same… Before seeing you I could barely eat and what I ate was bread and oatmeal. Now I eat a wide variety of foods. My stomach pain is occasional where it used to be chronic and ditto on the migraines. The new stomach issue is weird and yet your amazing herbs cleared that up too… You have no idea how grateful I am that I was able to heal without the use of antibiotics. Oh and let's not forget that I am not freezing cold every minute of the day anymore!… Finally, your treatments are what have kept me afloat and at the bad times, it's what has carried me through…

All this to say that I want you to know that I may not express it and frankly I think I take it for granted that all that you have done for me has made all the difference and that I am so so so much better now than when we first met.
-LB, Oct 2016

CHRONIC PAIN
After years of going between chiropractic care, physical therapy and massage therapy in an attempt to locate relief for my acute myofascial shoulder and arm pain, an acquaintance referred me to Alexa, at ATX Acupuncture. I began seeing her in December of 2015.

Alexa's gentle energy and thoughtful qualities, in conjunction with her wide range of holistic knowledge has been refreshing for me. It is clear Alexa is well educated, insightful and confident but also always striving to learn more. I am so thrilled to say that I am virtually pain free! Now I am able to focus on life again, without the constant nagging, and exhausting discomfort. I'm so grateful to have connected with Alexa and am thankful she has brought her great knowledge to our community!
-JZ, Aug 2016

ELITE-LEVEL ATHLETIC PERFORMANCE
I grew up in Ireland playing numerous sports. I competed at a high level and had aspirations of becoming a professional athlete. I had my first muscular strain in my late teens, it was the start of a cycle of injuries that continued through until my late 20s. I was constantly either injured or rehabbing from injury. I went through traditional treatments and medications none of which provided long term benefit

I came [to] Alexa late in the Summer of 2015 for treatment of chronic Achilles tendonitis. Alexa treated my body holistically and helped me to heal my Achilles unlike ever before. Since then she has helped me with ankle sprains, wrist issues, and skin issues, amongst other things. In this time, I have experienced improved athletic performance in my new sport of choice: Obstacle Course Racing.

Alexa is one of the most amazing healers I have ever met. She fully understand what I need in order to perform at an optimal level, to a point where I am now one of the top 30 Obstacle Course Racers in the US. I whole heartedly recommend Alexa's care for pain management, injury recovery and optimal physical performance.
-Kiaran McCormack, Elite Obstacle Course Racer, July 2016

GALLBLADDER ISSUES, STRESS
I LOVE Alexa! She has helped me through gallbladder, liver, stress, and cycle issues. She knows the work and brings such love, connection, and wisdom into every session. I highly recommend her.
-SE, June 2016

GENERAL WELL-BEING
A visit to ATX Acupuncture is an unfailingly pleasant and restorative experience. I would highly recommend it to anyone.
-AC, May 2016

DETERIORATING ECZEMA
This woman came in with deteriorating eczema in early January, 2016. Four months later, her   sskin is clear and stable. You'll find more details on this case here.Testimonials - Testimonials - Testimonials -
Jan 2016                                                   1mo                                                         2mo

Testimonials - Testimonials -
3mos                                                       4mos

 

ECZEMA: "It hurt to hug my husband..."
I’ve had eczema all my life. The severity of the flare-ups varied over the years and could be easily triggered by allergies, hot or very cold weather, and stress. Over the past 5 years my skin was more often irritated than not. It was embarrassing and painful. I had many nights where I didn’t sleep because I was so itchy and uncomfortable. There were weeks when my entire body was so red, flaky and swollen that I struggled to get dressed in the morning. It hurt to move, it hurt to sit still, and it hurt to hug my husband. I had always relied on dermatologists to help ease the discomfort and clear my skin. They prescribed stronger and stronger steroids that would work for a while and then the effectiveness would wane. They finally suggested I take immune suppressants, which scared me. There were many side effects that I was not comfortable accepting.

Testimonials - Testimonials - Testimonials - Dec 2015, upper leg               Dec 2015, lower leg               March 2016, full leg

Testimonials - Testimonials -
Dec 2015                                               March 2016

Dec 2015                                                         March 2016

I decided to look for an alternative. I was hopeful I could find relief and become healthy through less invasive methods. After searching online I found Alexa Gilmore and ATX Acupuncture. I read several articles about how Alexa had helped others with severe eczema, so set up an appointment to meet with her. I was so impressed that she wanted to know about me as a whole person – details about my mood, exercise and diet, what foods I craved and my sleep patterns. She asked a lot of questions about my life and genuinely cared about what I was saying. She recommended a treatment of acupuncture and Chinese herbal teas. At first I saw her once a week and drank the teas twice a day. It was slow progress, but after a few weeks my skin wasn’t as red, swollen and hot. I could sleep at night, which was a huge relief. Alexa monitored my skin changes and continued to ask questions about me and my life in a comforting, empathetic manner. She changed the tea formulas as my skin and body slowly healed. I was becoming healthier. First, the redness and swelling went away, then the flaking and itchiness. After about 5 months of treatment my skin felt normal and I felt normal. I travel a lot for work and on a recent trip several people mentioned that I seemed much happier. I am. Now I sleep through the night, get dressed and hug my husband without pain, and move throughout the day without feeling restless. My thoughts are clearer and I can focus on my home, my work and my interests. It feels great to be healthy again.
-LB, May 2016

INJURY PREVENTION AND TREATMENT IN A
PROFESSIONAL ATHLETE
I plan to write a [full] testimonial however, I wanted to say how amazing and healing you are. I've only ever met one other person like you and that's my current Chiropractor, and until I met you I thought she was one of a kind. Like her you have an amazing gift…. I wish I could help you experience what I do! I hope some day you find someone who can provide for you like you do for others!
-KM, May 2016

IMPETIGO
This patient's skin deteriorated dramatically over the course of a single weekend from a slight "pimple" to what you see in the first picture, below. Less than 3 days later there was marked improvement, and within two weeks her skin had completely recovered from the infection and all hyperpigmentation had resolved, as well. She remarked, "The beautiful part of all of this is that the healing took place without the use of pharmaceutical antibiotics." I couldn't agree more. This is a wonderful example of the power of Chinese herbal medicine at work.


Acute impetigo, 3 days after onset


Less than 3 days after Chinese herbal intervention


Two weeks later, following up: all infection, swelling, and most hyperpigmentation completely resolved.
-IV, April 2016

ANXIETY, PANIC ATTACKS, SEVERE MENSTRUAL PAIN
For the past 3 years I have been struggling with anxiety and for the longest time I was taking medication and going to counseling. I made the decision to stop my medications, due to my own preference. In doing so my anxiety, of course, got worse. I was talking with my mother one day and she let me know that she was going to acupuncture. I myself then decided that I may as well give it a try, it was something holistic and that made me feel better about doing it. My anxiety brought on a lot of feelings of worry for most of my day and I would suffer from an anxiety attack at least 4-5 times a month. I did acupuncture once a week for 2 months and now I go every other week. After the first couple months I began to feel more relaxed and less worried. As time went on I had fewer anxiety attacks, I felt more and more relaxed throughout my days. My anxiety attacks eventually ceased and to this day I have had zero. It has been about five months since I began acupuncture and I have never felt this good. I feel like I have my life back after struggling for so long. 

One other thing that I found to be very helpful with acupuncture is that it also has helped with my menstrual cycle and the pain I used to feel. While I was talking with Alexa it had come up that I suffered from severe pain while menstruating. While we spoke I soon realized that it was abnormal for me to have that type of pain, I had been so used to it that it was just normal. In working on my anxiety we also worked on my pain as well. Along with acupuncture I also took Chinese herbs and it has made such a difference. My periods are shorter, I have no pain anymore, and they are lighter than what they were before. Acupuncture has really been an amazing part of my life and I will continue to do it for many years to come.
-TC, Dec 2015

"YOU ARE THE BEST"
You are the best at what you do and I am grateful to know you. Thank you for being so awesome and a great person with weird medical stuff."
-BL, Nov 2015

RESTLESS LEGS
I have had a very bad case of restless legs for over 40 years.  I tried everything to make it better: 3 different prescription medications specifically for this problem, increasing my exercise, meditation, supplements, running my legs under cold water, even tried putting a bar of soap under the mattress pad which had been recommended by more than one person.  I finally tried acupuncture and Chinese herbs together both of which I had doubts about, but out of shear exasperation I was willing to try anything!  Alexa is both knowledgeable in the field of Chinese herbs and acupuncture as well as a gentle confident guide.  Within a few weeks of starting treatments, I noticed an improvement in the frequency and severity of my restless legs but did not quite trust that these treatments were the reason.  However, now 2 months later, I can say with conviction that my restless legs have improved dramatically.  Alexa is a delight to work with and her expertise has made a huge difference in the quality of my life.
-ML, Oct 2015

INTESTINAL DISTRESS
-DH, Sep 2015

CHRONIC DIARRHEA, INTESTINAL DISTRESS
I have been going to ATX acupuncture since May 2015. I decided to give acupuncture a try because I was having intestinal/ digestion problems. I had my gallbladder removed in November 2013. Doctors told me that I was never going to have a normal bowel movement again. After every meal I ate I had to run to the bathroom. I was taking Imodium ad daily. I tried going gluten and diary free but it still wasn’t getting any better. I was willing to try anything. I was a little nervous to try acupuncture but I am so grateful that I did. After 3 visits I was already starting to see an improvement. After a month my bowels went back to normal. I no longer had to run to the bathroom after every meal. I no longer have to feel embarrassed running to the bathroom after eating at a restaurant. Acupuncture has changed my life. I finally feel like myself again. I’m so thankful for Alexa, she has helped me in such a big way that doctors couldn’t.
-VT, Sep 2015

SCIATICA
I had always been perfectly healthy and pain free, but in December and January of 2015 I started to suffer from terrible sciatica. As I had always done successfully before, I tried to self diagnose and self heal. I stretched and did yoga and took aleve and tried to work through the issues. But after 3 plus months of discomfort, I took the recommendation of a few friends and I researched acupuncture and made my first appointment with ATX. Alexa made me feel comfortable and was confident that we could work on the issue and that I would make a full recovery. It was an enormous relief since I had never experienced chronic pain before and was terrified that it just wouldn't go away. We had an honest discussion about how long it would take (6 to 8 sessions) and the process. What was great about Alexa is that she didn't just provide acupuncture, but deep tissue stimulation and therapeutic manual therapy. I really think that made all the difference. I'm thrilled to report my sciatica is gone and I have made a full recovery. I'm incredibly grateful to Alexa and I'm so happy I had the patience to go through this process.
-MC, June 2015

GENERAL
I am so thankful for your help. You brought me back from a time and condition dire enough that my spiritual family seriously considered taking me home. Obviously, I am to continue my adventure.  I ask blessings on you for your continuing adventure. You make a difference in the lives of so many.  Hugs.
-DB, May 2015

IRRITABLE BOWEL, SLEEP ISSUES, MUSCLE ACHES/PAINS
I went to see Alexa in October 2014 for issues with sleep deprivation, irritable bowel, muscle/body aches and digestive issues with certain foods. With these issues I felt exhausted majority of the time, anxiety and very tight in my joints and muscles. I've tried multiple types of detox diets to help improve these symptoms. The diet only provided me with temporary relief. Symptoms would return once I finished the detox. I love eating all types of food without being so strict in my diet. I decided to add acupuncture to improve all my symptoms and make it more of a permanent result versus only a temporary fix. I noticed in about 3-4 sessions things were shifting in my system. At this point after about 6 months of treatment I am about 80% better. I haven't been strict on my diet and my symptoms have not returned. I am able to sleep 7-8 hours of solid. My anxiety is pretty much nonexistent. My bowel pattern has changed from 10-15 times a day to 1-3 movements a day. I am pleased with my outcome and looking to continue to get better.
-MH May 2015

ALLERGIES: FOOD AND ENVIRONMENTAL
When I write my magical-realist memoir, I will not need to exaggerate my experience in order to demonstrate that Alexa Gilmore is a sorceress. I am a scientifically minded, over-analytical, skeptic. I did not expect ANY of this to work, but the effects of Alexa's treatments are indisputable: I feel like I traded in my previous body for a much better model.

When I turned to acupuncture, it was mainly for help with my allergies. I had already been seen by four allergists. They would only tell me what my body was reacting to that day, but they had no answers about the underlying causes of the systemic issue. And frankly, many were impatient and rude about my desire to do more than treat symptoms as they arose.

The situation was bad and moving toward worse. My body was generally oversensitive: unable to tolerate an ever-changing litany of foods, mosquito bites might cause pain and swelling that could keep me home from work for at least a day, and I had become unable to drink either alcohol or coffee. No vices at all? Horrible. 

Additionally, I was studying for the bar exam, dealing with a major breakup, managing my parents' divorce, and supervising their healthcare during emergencies... all without either coffee or alcohol. It was insufferable, and acupuncture seemed like a worthwhile Hail Mary. 

At my first treatment, Alexa read my body like a book. A book called, "Instructions for Care and Maintenance of this Body." I felt like the floor was moving under me. I laughed. I cried. It was a roller coaster of unknown sensations of healing and calm. And after that appointment, I drank both alcohol and coffee in the same day. I ate every trigger food I could think of. And I was fine.

That's right: FINE. After one treatment? Ok, sold. So I went back. 

Over the next three months, Alexa resolved life-long issues that Western medicine had been unable or disinclined to treat for 30 years. Every week, things would improve in fantastic and unexpected ways. At the beginning of each appointment, she would take ten or fifteen minutes to talk to me -- asking questions that ranged from, "How is your skin feeling?" to, "How do you feel about wind; do you have a strong opinion about it?" Based on my befuddled answers, she deduced fundamental truths about my physical condition.

Then she would begin the treatment. She has an uncanny way of knowing exactly what points to needle, where I might have tenderness, and what that tenderness might indicate. Most weeks the effects were immediate. "Let me know if this changes the feeling in your shoulders," she'd say as she inserted a needle. Within seconds I would feel a profound release of tension, a soothing warmth, or a seeming shift in the alignment of my skeleton. She is, at the very least, a detective, connecting seemingly unrelated evidential threads and weaving them into a course of treatment. But I'm pretty sure she's a sorceress. 

Every element of the treatment worked, no matter how bizarre it seemed, no matter how unlikely I thought it was. She never steered me wrong, and she was always willing to tell me why, exactly, she was going to take one drop of blood from the back of my left knee (which didn't hurt and did work). She is incredibly open and patient in describing the treatment and the desired effects. She is not pretentious or unnecessarily mystical for even a moment. She listened, and related to me as an equal partner in finding solutions for whatever ailed me.

I have never had a medical experience so fulfilling and enjoyable. I did not ever expect to feel this well. My experience at ATX Acupuncture has been phenomenal, in the literal sense of that word. Alexa performed magic in my life, and I am eternally grateful.
-AC, April 2015

NUMBNESS, SPASMS, ANXIETY, DEPRESSION
I wanted to take a minute to share my experience with Alexa.  Beginning last year, I started experiencing numbness and tingling in my right leg.  As I had done before, I went to see a chiropractor, as I figured it was a sports-related injury as I had been training for triathlons and was involved in a relatively intense workout schedule.  After a few visits to the chiropractor, things did not seem to get better, and the numbness seemed to be traveling up and down my right side from my face and arm to my leg and foot.  I then tried PT, after xrays showed I had some bulging disks in my neck.  With PT, things seemed to get better for a short while, but then it turned and it started to get worse.  I was experiencing more numbness and tingling in my leg, my upper arm and right shoulder as well as in the right side of my face. I was also beginning to have random muscle spasms all over my body.  At this point, it was suggested by my primary care doctor that I see a neurologist.  Having to wait over 2 months for my appointment led to much anxiousness, insomnia, night sweats, and panic attacks, as it was mentioned multiple times that it could be MS.  I was unable to sleep, was having trouble completing simple daily tasks as I felt like I couldn’t think straight, and felt like I had no strength or energy.  All I felt like doing was sleeping, but I couldn’t sleep.  I felt depressed, like my life was never going to be the same, like I couldn’t be a good Mom and I felt like people were going to have to take care of me instead of me taking care of my family.  I felt like I was never going to be able to go on another bike ride, run, or take part in any other physical activities I enjoyed like hiking, skiing, swimming or simply playing with my children.   I was afraid to drive with my kids in the car, and the simple task of going to the grocery store was exhausting and took all of my strength.  I couldn’t sign up to volunteer for anything at my children’s’ schools as I really didn’t  think I would be able to get myself there or have the strength to help anyone with anything.  I just wanted to hide in my house and not see anyone.

The tests,  including comprehensive blood tests,  finally completed by the neurologist,  all came back negative - a huge surprise and relief.  But the symptoms were all still there, so I then wondered if it wasn’t MS, what was going on.  My doctor started me on a low dose of anxiety/depression medication which I had never before in my life even considered.  He also suggested I see a psychologist, which I started doing.

It was at this point I also turned to Alexa as I felt like I had run out of the traditional medical options.  I had never done acupuncture before, but was willing to give it a try as I had not received any real answers or relief from traditional medicine and doctors.  My first appointment with Alexa showed her compassion and care for her patients.  She took all of the time she needed to talk through all of my symptoms with me until she had a complete picture of what I was dealing with.  Even through the tears I felt comfortable with her at our first meeting.   After just a few weekly sessions with Alexa, I was starting to sleep better and felt much less anxious.  My night sweats had diminished.  Although I was still anxious, I was able to perform daily tasks with more clarity, and was able to drive myself to gentle TaiChi and yoga classes and volunteer at the library in my children’s school.  The numbness in my arm and leg was greatly diminished.  I was still experiencing the numbness in my face and some muscle spasms were still occurring, so I continued treatments and we added herbal supplements.  After a few months of both treatments (every two to three weeks) and herbal supplements, I have my life back.  I am sleeping normally, have clarity in my thinking, my anxiousness is greatly reduced, the numbness in my leg and arm is virtually gone.  My psychologist gave me the green light to not see her on a regular basis after 1 ½ months as I was feeling  much better.   And the numbness in my face has been slowly receding and is just about gone.  Most days I don’t notice it at all, and if I do, it is very minimal.  I am again able to enjoy myself with my family and friends and feel genuinely happier than I have in a long time.  I didn’t think anything of my being cold all of the time either, but Alexa figured out that I was out of balance which led to this feeling of being cold.  I have to say, even throughout this long, snowy, below normal temperature winter, I have not been nearly as chilled as I usually am throughout the winter months!

I can’t thank Alexa enough. I really thought I was going to be living with these symptoms for the rest of my life.  Through her practice, I was able to get my life back, enjoy my kids activities, care for my family, and have been actively skiing and doing yoga and pilates classes with my strength and energy back.  I am still seeing Alexa on a monthly basis at this point, but feel it is just to keep things in check and on the right path.   Again, thank you Alexa!
-IV, Feb 2015

ACUTE NECK SPASM


-JA, Jan 2015

DERMATITIS

10/6/14: torso lesion, worsening


10/29/14: torso lesion, only hyperpigmentation (discoloration) remains

Having seen before and after pictures of the success Alexa has had in treating skin conditions prompted me to call her during my most recent outbreak of eczema. I had intensely itchy, large patches on my hips, thighs and abdomen that I had self-treated for about a week...unsuccessfully. After the first treatment with Alexa, the itching reduced dramatically. I continued with occasional acupuncture supplemented with a prescribed herbal tea and finally a topical cream. My skin is now completely clear. I would highly recommend Alexa for any skin eruption. Just don't wait a week to call her like I did.
-IL, Dec 2014

BACK PAIN
Six weeks before a month long vacation in Europe my wife strained her back and had trouble standing or walking for more than 15 minutes. The pain was intense. During the next 5 weeks she tried rest, osteopathic manipulation, high doses of ibuprofen, a course of anti-inflammatory steroids, and massage. She saw a chiropractor, primary care physician, a DO, a neurologist, and a massage therapist. But 5 days before our flight there was no improvement and we were deciding how to alter our upcoming trip. Our kids were not happy and we weren't either, but what can you do when health problems intervene...[I heard about ATX Acupuncture that morning and] I made an appointment with Alexa for the next morning, which my wife hesitantly accepted as a last recourse. After a single treatment (2 hours long because she needed quick results) she called me ecstatic because she felt better than she had in 6 weeks. She saw Alexa 3 times in the 4 days before we left and the treatments restored her back so that we could enjoy a month of hiking and walking in Europe. Alexa’s treatments all but eliminated the pain and we enjoyed an amazing vacation. I refer everyone who tells me they are in pain to Alexa and nobody has come back disappointed. Thank you Alexa!
-JL, Nov 2014

ATTENTION SKEPTICS
Friends...If you are eastern medicine, acupuncture skeptics, you should absolutely change your minds ( I once was that skeptic). Allergies were sucking the life out of me and I was super sore from an intense workout, went to see my acupuncturist today and walked out feeling like a million bucks. Absolutely not sore and could actually breathe. Austin...I know a good one, if you live on the east coast and [are] willing to drive to Maine I know a good one there as well.
-LB, Oct 2014, a former patient from my practice in Austin, TX, with an unsolicited web endorsement

GENERAL THANKS
Thanks, Alexa!
You are a tremendous resource and top notch practitioner.  Glad to have found you at such a critical time.
See you soon! Thanks for all you have done
-RA, Nov 2014

CHRONIC HIVES


5/19/14


6/19/14

When I sought out treatment with Alexa Gilmore, it was upon referral from a colleague of hers that I had seen for acupuncture.  I had begun to develop hives on my arms.  When I had finally gone for treatment, after realizing the hives weren’t going away on their own, my then current acupuncturist referred me to Alexa rather quickly.  He told me she specialized in skin conditions.  And he was absolutely correct!!

Even without having previous experience with herbs, I was immediately hopeful after my initial appointment with Alexa.  She was somehow able to translate what I was able to convey to her around my symptoms and my observations, into a language that fit into Chinese medicine.  And our conversations matched, curiously so, even though at times it felt like she was interpreting my words into a different language; one that got us to the correct, necessary and powerful concoction of herbal tea that sent me on my way to healing.

Coming from someone who has a strong belief that the body has the potential to heal itself, I was very hesitant about taking any medications that would suppress this process that I saw as cathartic.  The herbs Alexa prescribed, without question, left me feeling like my body was still fully able to purge and rid itself of all it was clearing through this intense hive outbreak, while allowing me to manage the symptoms on a much smaller scale.  Alexa was keenly aware of my desire to not shut down this process and was able to walk me though this trying time of intense physical sensation.

As a practitioner myself, I hold a high level of quality that I give and receive.  Alexa is without a doubt, a top notch practitioner that has helped me tremendously.  Her knowledge, wisdom and sense of intuition is an excellent combination.  I am grateful to have her on my small team of ‘go-to’ practitioners that bring their best to the table.
-RA, Oct 2014

CHRONIC PAIN: "I could scream for joy..."
I will try and write the events that led up to me going to Alexa Gilmore for Acupuncture. In 2009 I ruptured a tendon in my right foot. I had surgery, and after the cast was removed I couldn’t put my foot down to 90 degrees and couldn’t walk. Over the course of several months the doctor kept putting me in new casts but nothing helped and I used a knee walker for 11 months. I saw a PT, neurologist, wore a Rica splint for a while and had CT scans. Doctors were stumped. Finally after going to the Lahey Clinic for a second opinion I had Achilles tendon surgery in April of 2010. I was very discouraged, but went back in a walking boot, started PT again, and I was feeling a little better by September so started an exercise class. In October I had an MRI on my left leg for a new pain, and had ruptured that side now, as well. I was put into a cast and used the knee walker again for 6 weeks.

In March of 2011 I went to a chiropractor for back pain caused by the way I was walking since the knee walkers and surgeries. I had treatments 2x/week for 6 weeks. By July my left hip and thigh had started to hurt. PCP doctor thought it was sciatica so started PT again for exercises. Had last PT in August but leg still getting worse. Went back to the chiropractor 2x/week. In August of 2011 had MRI and found a herniated disc. Had several anti-inflammatory steroid injections which didn’t help. In Nov of 2011 I had a discectomy, and in Jan 2012 I had a fusion done on my big tow on my right foot. Kept seeing the chiropractor for several visits but nothing was helping the pain in my back and left thigh even though I was taking lots of pain meds. In April I started PT again twice a week. Stopped it in June. Back had been bothering me again so doctor ordered and MRI for July 2. Had back fusion surgery on July 18, 2012.

By this time I was a wreck and just wanted to walk again without the awful pain in my back and leg. Started PT again, going once a week. In April of 2013 my back and right left were bothering me. Doc had 5 X-rays and MRI done. Again had several epidural injections that didn’t help. In May of 2013 had mylogram of the spine. I’m a Christian and throughout all of this I had tried to keep my spirits up but I was a wreck and didn’t want another surgery. Mylogram showed that the bones hadn’t fused and a screw was loose. I just wanted to go to bed and not get up again. I am a widow and live alone and it was hard to keep going. Had a second opinion on the back, saw a new surgeon, and throughout all of this the doctors had tried different pain pills but nothing touched the pain. The only relief I had was when I was lying down. Stopped all activities. Had more injections on back and more pills but nothing helped. Finally in March 2014 had another spinal fusion done. After 8 weeks started PT again. Again legs and back still painful.

On June 10, 2014 my PCP doctor talked to me about Acupuncture and recommended Alexa Gilmore. I called her and saw her for the first time on June 23. Slowly by going twice a week my back and right leg are fine. I could scream for joy. The left thigh still has some pain when I stand too long but the pain has decreased a lot. I am only walking with a cane now for balance and have been telling anyone who would listen how wonderful Alexa is and that only Acupuncture healed me. It only took Alexa a couple of months to take away the awful pain using Acupuncture and I feel like a new woman now. I am recommending Acupuncture to all my family and friends. People have asked if Acupuncture hurts and I have told them I usually don’t feel anything and it’s very relaxing. Acupuncture is the way to go and now I will work on some other aches and pains. I cannot say enough good things about the entire process and I thank Alexa very much for all she has done for me. Praise God.
-JM, August 2014

NECK PAIN
I am feeling great today! The neck pain is still there, but it is a fraction of what I was feeling prior to the visit. I have downgraded it to a "twinge" instead of a "sharp scary pain that makes me want to keep my neck immobile…I will highly recommend you to my friends.
-KP, July 2014

ASTHMA
I was diagnosed with asthma a couple of years ago. This came as quite a shock, since I've always been a healthy, fit woman. After many tests, I was prescribed various (steroid) inhalers which all caused an overgrowth of yeast in my mouth and I had to stop taking them. Now I just take a pill to control my symptoms as a preventative measure and occasionally use a rescue inhaler when I need it.

I noticed this winter, which has been extremely cold and dry, that my lungs haven't felt right. They felt heavy and tight, which I recognized as my asthma. This was worse if I was exposed to the cold air directly, even for a short amount of time (like walking to my car) as well as exercising outdoors. Since I knew that taking more of my rescue inhaler wasn't the answer to PREVENTING my lungs from reacting to the cold air, I was becoming frustrated that there wasn't anything else I could do; until my next visit with Alexa for my regular acupuncture visit. I had other issues for which I was getting acupuncture treatments, so I casually mentioned that my asthma wasn't doing great and she went ahead and did a treatment for it along with some other ailments.

Lo and behold! My lungs have felt clear and NORMAL ever since that ONE treatment! I am so thrilled to feel healthy again. I haven't had to use my rescue inhaler at all and the weather is still frigidly cold (even though it's officially spring!). I am telling anyone I know who suffers from uncontrolled asthma, that acupuncture can help!
-AG, March 2014

PSORIASIS
I have been suffering with psoriasis for approximately 12-13 years. I had no idea what it was at first so went to a dermatologist in California as we were living there at the time 1998-2004. I was then diagnosed having psoriasis and the doctor prescribed various medications which unfortunately did not help. The condition worsened but I kept going back for monthly appointments as I did not know what else to do. Skin condition-go to a dermatologist! After a couple of years of frustration with NO IMPROVEMENT I stopped going. We moved to NH in 2004 so I thought I would seek help here and went to a dermatologist in Massachusetts and same thing happened—they prescribed ointments and foams and creams that DID NOT WORK. Through various other required treatments that were necessary for my health, someone recommended that I try Chinese Herbal Medicine and encouraged me to see this wonderful young woman Alexa Gilmore. What did I have to lose—NOTHING.

I have been under the care of Alexa since mid November 2013 who for me has been a Miracle Worker. My skin is practically all cleared up—the constant scratching has stopped and the embarrassing flaking of my skin HAS GONE AWAY. I am a believer and you should be too. Alexa is competent at providing comfort to people with various physical ailments (check out her website).  My experience with Alexa was psoriasis and I highly recommend that any one suffering from psoriasis or other skin issues give Alexa a phone call or EMAIL her.


Nov 2013                                                   March 2014


Nov 2013                                                   March 2014


Nov 2013                                                 March 2014

-TG, March 2014

WELL-BEING
During my first visit with Alexa I felt that she was able to perceive my health from a holistic and systemic perspective. After the acupuncture I returned home and fell asleep for an hour. So don't go to see her right before taking a long drive! I am blessed with a strong constitution and almost never see doctors. However, seeing Alexa is not the same as going to the doctor. Following my visit I felt my whole being vibrating at a higher level.
-AG, Feb 2014

STRESS
I went to see Alexa last week and left feeling more relaxed than I had been in a long time...it was a great experience and I would suggest everyone see her at least once! Thanks Alexa, I still feel more relaxed!
-TP, Jan 2014

"100% COMMITTED"
My first visit to Alexa's office I find a warm, inviting space. She has such a warm presence about her, and she has extensive training and experience in her field. I am completely comfortable with her level of expertise...she is 100% committed to the needs of her patients, and finding a positive solution on their terms-so refreshing!
-AR, Dec 2013

SLEEP, WEIGHT LOSS, ENERGY
It is an honor to provide this "testimonial" to my success at Atx Acupuncture.
Alexa listened attentively to both my goals in her practice and my concern, or should say skepticism with this alternative approach to resolving problems that traditional medicine had been unable to treat effectively. She assured me that the approach she would employ would be rewarding and that in addressing my objectives, a combination of acupuncture and dietary supplements may provide the best plan for healing.

At 62, I, of course, can list a few things that impact my health. All of them have been treated with normal processes of diet moderation and the requisite medications. I decided to try acupuncture with the hope of treating what I felt was the most significant problem impacting my well being- SLEEP, for most of my adult life and certainly since my early 40s I have suffered from Apnea. At 50 I had surgery to improve the situation and it proved to be of no benefit, I then and still do use a CPAP machine which improved the level of rest but not the length, I still only averaged 3-4 hours of sleep at night and those were interrupted with noticeable periods of simply lying awake.

Alexa recommended a combination of acupuncture and a supplement with the notice that it would likely be 4-6 weekly visits before I recognize any benefit.

I will readily admit that my sleep has improved significantly. The treatments started in May, it is now November and since June I have averaged 5 to 6 hours of uninterrupted sleep each night.  My success with sleep led me to participate in a dietary "purification" process that Alexa also provides. I should point out that I already had adopted a diet of minimal sugars and processed foods and mostly "organic" in nature. The additional discipline of this 21 day program was simply amazing in balancing my overall health and energy levels. I was able to identify foods that had adverse affects and restrict them. It was also a great side benefit to lose 25 lbs in almost as many days returning me to the weight I carried in my 40s.

My wife, an RN, was so pleased with my success that she too has been seeing Alexa and our dietary changes are simply a daily practice. In my wife's case she discovered that a long time health problem was related to "dairy" products and since eliminating them has enjoyed greater comfort in her every day life.

I would like to stress that with the acupuncture there is no pain, there is no need to fear the needles. Alexa is gentle in her approach and respects you with her calming nature and generous disposition. I have no problem in addressing any questions you may have and Alexa is welcome to share my contact information if she feels it would be a benefit to you.
-DM, Nov 2013

SEVERE HEADACHE
I had been having severe migraine headaches for 4 months. I saw Alexa and after my first treatment I was migraine free. I felt immediately more relaxed and held less tension in my neck. I am thrilled with Alexa's treatment and can't wait to go back.
-LP, Oct 2013

PREVENTIVE HEALTH CARE, COLD/FLU
Alexa is not only a wonderful and beautiful person but she's an amazing healer. Her holistic approach provides relief from all types of pain, both physical and emotional. Her sensitivity and thoughtfulness is matched only by her skill and attention to detail. She is my first line of defense when I feel the flu coming, I'm feeling stressed, or I have
an acute issue arise. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend her to anyone who wants to feel better, whatever their issue may be.
-CM, Oct 2013

CHRONIC CONSTIPATION
I had been dealing with chronic constipation for two years when I decided to try acupuncture.  I had completed a traditional workup for constipation: CT scan, tests for dietary intolerances and for metabolic issues that might cause constipation.  Everything came back negative, and my gastroenterologist pronounced my diagnosis: idiopathic constipation, which to me meant, “sorry, we can’t help you.”   

I went back and forth between deciding that my intestinal issues weren’t so bad – I could live with constant low-grade belly pain – and frustration and anger that I had developed a sudden and unexplained chronic issue at age 28.  I really wanted to find an explanation for whatever was going on with my body.  I tried all kinds of dietary exclusions, but found that I felt better only when I was eating less. 

One of my friends had seen an acupuncturist for migraine headaches, to great success, and encouraged me to give it a try. I knew nothing about acupuncture, but had exhausted all of the conventional options for treating my constipation.  I had to battle some discomfort with needles.  I felt a little silly spending yet more time and money on a health issue that really seemed to be a lost cause.  But I was curious.  

Within two weeks of acupuncture with Alexa and using castor oil and a heating pad on my belly, my issues resolved.  I was stunned.  I had become so accustomed to living with an annoying, uncomfortable health problem.  I never expected the issue to resolve, especially not with a treatment modality I didn’t understand.  I feel really fortunate to have discovered acupuncture early in my life, and to have Alexa as a resource for alternative thoughts about health.
-EB, Oct 2013

STRESS, NECK PAIN
Hope you have a great day, and I will see you next week! Oh, and I'm feeling great from last week. Thanks for curing me. My neck is so much better than it used to be and my stress level is so manageable, it's insane. Much appreciation to you!
​-e-mail from KD, September 2013

BACK PAIN
Six weeks before a month long trip to Europe I strained my back and had trouble standing or walking for more than 15 minutes.  The pain was intense.  During the next 5 weeks I tried rest, osteopathic manipulation, high doses of ibuprofen, a course of anti-inflammatory steroids, and massage.  But 5 days before my flight there was no improvement and I was deciding how to alter my upcoming trip.  As a last resort, I made an appointment with Alexa.  After a single treatment I felt better than I had in 6 weeks.  I saw her 3 times in the 5 days before I left and her treatments restored my back so that I could enjoy a month of hiking and walking in Europe.  Alexa’s treatments all but eliminated the debilitating pain I was experiencing.   Thank you Alexa! 
-AL, September 2013

SHOULDER PAIN
My shoulder started to bother me in 2009 during softball. I have always had a strong throwing arm while playing outfield. I finally went to see a doctor in January 2013 which led to PT for a Rotator Cuff problem. There was little progress, so the doctor gave me a Cortizone injection in May. I continued the PT on my own, lifted weights and got a massage every other week. Some improvement was felt, but I decided to try acupuncture to eliminate more of the pain.I started with Alexa at ATX in early July and after six sessions most of the pain was gone and I felt good throwing a softball for the first time in two years! I recommend Alexa for anyone with chronic pain. This form of treatment really works!
​-RN, September 2013

BACK PAIN: "FRIGGIN' AMAZING"
You know this already, but you are friggin’ amazing.  [My wife] just returned from a fairly brisk 2 mile walk with the neighbor.  Her legs got a little numb in the first 5 minutes, then returned to normal within a few minutes, and now she is just a little sore in the lower back.   I don’t think it is an overstatement to say that you may have saved our vacation – or at least gotten us back to the original plan that includes lots of walking.  In a single treatment you did more than 6 weeks of rest, the DO, the neurologist, the steroids, the NSAIDs, stretching and other exercises from some better back book, sleeping on a pillow, and I don’t know how many other efforts to improve her back.  And by day 3 [​we did daily treatments for 3 days in advance of a month-long hiking vacation​], wow. 

I will be delivering a testimonial suitable for framing when we return, but in the meantime I just want you to know how fortunate we feel that we know you (and that [my wife] finally agreed to come in). 

Our sincerest thank you for your help this week.  Enjoy the warm temperatures next week (we’ll be [in Europe] riding horses thanks to you).
​-e-mail from JL, June 2013

FATIGUE, WEIGHT GAIN
I wish to give you my experience with Alexa. I was distraught and feeling sluggish with knee and back pain so I purchased a session with Alexa. This turned out to be one of my best decisions.  She was amazing! She spoke about a 21 day cleansing program, which I have currently completed. I am now 13 pounds lighter and enjoying great health. I would strongly recommend Alexa for any ailment you may have.
​-LL, May 2013

HEADACHE, ANXIETY
    I had been struggling with chronic muscle pain in my neck and upper shoulders for at least 2 years maybe longer.  This pain often led to dehabilitating headaches that kept me from enjoying daily life - even from perfoming my job forcing me to miss work.  Frustrated by missed attempts at correcting the problem, I had succumb to the pain and numbed it through taking up to 10 Excedrin a day.  I would describe my life as happy, my outlook positive, and otherwise extremly blessed.  This pain however was like a ball and chain I carried with me, it was getting to be very oppressive.  To further complicate matters, a parallel issue was the feeling of constantly being amped up, anxious, my brain could never rest.
    After my very first treatment, I felt a calmness, and relief that I had lost hope of ever finding.   I felt lighter, as though a very heavy weight had been lifted both physically and mentally.  What I have enjoyed about working with Alexa is her ability to listen to my concerns, perform tangible and noticable healing, and then leave her office with an index card of next steps to continue my healing progress until I see her again.  I have become so very "aware" of my own body, how I hold myself, my posture, my breathing, and VOILA, for the first time in years, the muscle pain is gone.  The healing benefits have been so amazing for me, I truly look forward to my sessions now, and I am forever an Acupuncture enthusiast.  In the future if I experience other physical ailments, my first line of treatment WILL NOT BE with a traditional doctor, but instead it will be acupuncture.  I LOVE IT!  Thank you Alexa, for your life changing healing.
​-GA, March 2013

SKIN IRRITATION
A number of years ago I developed red, dry skin bumps all over my back. During the winter months these bumps were particularly itchy and uncomfortable. If they were irritated at all - like when rubbing with a washcloth - they might ooze and bleed as well. Dermatologists were baffled, unable to identify the condition or suggest a treatment other than applying lotions for dry skin. I had pretty much resigned myself to having this problem forever. Although I had little hope that there could be a resolution to my problem, I talked to Alexa Gilmore, thinking that herbs or acupuncture might help. She attentively listened to my story, asked many questions and examined my back. She prescribed herbs that I took twice a day in the form of a hot tea. After a few weeks the number of skin bumps was greatly reduced while those
that remained were less inflamed. I continued taking the herbs for just 2 more
months. At this point much of my back was clear and the itching gone. It has been over a year since the treatment and there has been no increase in breakouts. I am so pleased and grateful that Alexa could offer a solution that no one else could!
​-SH, March 2013

​SHOULDER PAIN, GERD/REFLUX, ANXIETY
Alexa is the type of person that once you say hello to her, you never want to say goodbye.  She is truly amazing at what she does and is a natural healer. I sustained a chronic shoulder injury during a workout at the gym that wasn’t responding to the typical NSAIDs and was taking longer than I would like to “feel better” given the extremely active life style I lead. I knew a lot of people who have had shoulder injuries in the past and have had to have surgery. I was determined that surgery wasn’t going to be an option for me. Orthopedic, musculoskeletal and cutaneous pain/injuries for me are annoying, frustrating and depressing. I was really anxious to start back into full training mode and get back to cycling, swimming, Olympic weight lifting and cross-fitting without pain and discomfort of an annoying shoulder injury. Alexa used both acupuncture and massage therapy to alleviate the pain, increase flexibility and mobility of my shoulder. Acupuncture is truly an amazing feeling and I found pain relief almost immediately during each session, however it did take several sessions to completely alleviate the shoulder pain. Now 4 months after stopping the specific treatment to the shoulder, I am still pain free with no adverse side effects. I am able to continue to be as active as I was, if not more.
      On the emotional level, I had asked if she could help with anxiety. I have struggled with anxiety for a very long time. Giving presentations to large crowds was more than overwhelming and lead to a racing heart rate, shaky hands, shaky voice, stomach ache and the overwhelming feeling that the world was crashing in the several seconds prior to giving the talk. I had tried psychotherapy, beta blockers and even anti-anxiety medication in the past with no avail. In my near future, I knew that I had an oral examination coming up with a nearly unreachable pass rate (30% pass rate) which only led to racing thoughts of failure and despair. Acupuncture was probably the best thing I could have done for the anxiety and wish I would have known sooner. Alexa has a calming spirit about her and has a definite way of passing positive energy to her patients. The treatments were incredibly relaxing and I felt much calmer and collected up until the day I took and passed the exam. Since that time I have less anxiety and tend to not worry as much as I used to about things I can’t specifically control.
      Finally, I sought her help with gastroesophogeal acid reflux disease. My first bout with this was several years back. My chest hurt so bad I thought I was having a heart attack. Other clinical signs included burning in the throat and stomach ache. [The symptoms were severe enough that] I started taking antacids (pepcid) and proton pump inhibitors (omeprazole) [to manage them]... Alexa used both herbal supplements and acupuncture to give me the relief I needed. This aspect of my life has not been treated with acupuncture for several months now and again I am still symptom free [and off all medication]. Acupuncture has brought me to a new level of feeling good and healthy in body, mind and spirit.
      Alexa is a deeply caring person, pays attention to “you” and meets you at your moment and time of need whatever that might be. She has a natural talent for healing that is expressed through her work. She is professional and has an impeccable bed side manner. I truly believe she can have an impact on your life and I highly recommend her to anyone."
​-LB, March 2013

YOUR PERSONAL OBI WAN KENOBI
Alexa,
It’s been such an amazing pleasure working with and getting to know you.  I can’t tell you how much you’ve helped me swim through troubled waters.  You may not have intended to become my personal Obi Wan Kenobi, but I know your words will waft up when I need them, long after you’ve left.

Thank you for helping this fish find her current.  All my best wishes for the next leg of your journey.  No doubt, it will be beautiful!

Love,

-LA, Dec 2012

THANKS
work for a cause, not for applause
live life to express, not to impress
don’t strive to make your presence
noticed, just make your absence felt
-unknown

you do all 3. and your absence will definitely be felt.
I’m blessed to know you and thank you so much for your hard work.  Couldn’t have done many things without out.  (Bench press a small human :)  )
Have a Merry Christmas.
Good luck & safe travels.
Peace
-LB, Dec 2012

CHRONIC NECK PAIN
I want to thank you immensely for your work with me over the past several months. When I came to see you, I was getting desperate, as I had been searching for permanent pain relief for well over a year. You are the first one to really get down to the core issue, and facilitate a true healing experience. I will be forever grateful to you. Please let me know if there is ever anything I can do for you.
​-email from CG, Dec 2012

CHRONIC BACK PAIN
So, you're a healer. I woke up this morning feeling better than I have in a very long time.  Thanks, and have a wonderful day.
​-email from KS, Nov 2012

JAW PAIN
    I started having trouble with jaw pain (TMJ) about 1 1/2 years ago. It got so bad that I couldn’t even open my mouth wide enough to eat a sandwich or hamburger. I couldn’t eat tough foods like steak or nuts, or bite into foods like apples and peaches. The dentist told me I needed “alignment” with braces and sent me to an orthodontist. The orthodontist told me I needed to wear a special mouth piece (an orthodic, or mouth split) for 4 to 8 months, and once my jaw was properly aligned it would heal, and then I would need braces to lock my aligned jaw permanently in place. I wore the stupid mouth piece for 8 months with little relief, so then the orthodontist stopped treatment and referred me to an oral surgeon. The surgeon prescribed muscle relaxers and recommended physical therapy, and if that didn’t work then surgery was the next step. I underwent physical therapy with a TMJ specialist for several months, which did seem to help my limited jaw mobility but didn’t alleviate the pain at all. Finally, about 3 months ago, I was at my worst and resigned that surgery was the only option left. At the recommendation of a friend to “think outside the box” I started researching medical alternatives and decided to give acupuncture a try. I’d never tried it before and had never really been all that curious about it.  It was my last-ditch effort before having serious surgery on my jaw, and I am so glad that I gave ATX Acupuncture and Wellness a try!
    Going to see Alexa was the very best thing I could have done. Within a few sessions, it became clear that working with Alexa was going to resolve my TMJ pain. It was Alexa – not the dentist or orthodontist or oral surgeon – who determined that my problem was muscular in nature. Instead of blindly following some prescribed treatment (mouth splint, braces, physical therapy), she investigated my specific condition individually and treated my condition as unique to me. One of my favorite things that she’s said is, “Everyone is different and you have to treat them that way, you have to find out what works for each individual person.”
    She incorporated both acupuncture and deep tissue massage to work out the chronic distress that had my jaw and neck muscles “locked up.”  The massage therapy from Alexa was COMPLETELY different than brief massage administered by the physical therapist, and about 1000 times more effective – Alexa REALLY gets into the muscles and makes things happen! I really can’t praise Alexa’s massage therapy enough, it’s so deep and intense and effective. I had no idea you could even massage the muscles around the jaw and head like that! (And how is it that NONE of the other medical professionals I sought treatment from ever even considered musculature as the possible problem?) The times when my jaw was particularly painful, Alexa utilized acupuncture to relax the jaw area and help alleviate the pain. It’s pretty amazing stuff: one time she used a single needle in the palm of my left hand to make the sharp pain in my jaw disappear! It’s wild! I’ve certainly come to respect acupuncture as an effective
treatment… and massage therapy too, for that matter, because I had never considered massage as an effective treatment for such chronic ailments.
    Here’s an example to illustrate the progress I’ve made with Alexa: Last week I enjoyed a very-toasted thick bagel while having breakfast with my dad. Afterwards, I realized that I had just eaten a hard, crunchy bagel with absolutely no pain, without even any thought of pain! There is no way that would have happened 3 months ago. In fact, 3 months ago the first thing that would have popped into my mind when considering a big toasted bagel was that it wouldn’t be worth the pain it would cause to open my mouth wide or bite down hard – but this time pain didn’t even cross my mind, not while ordering and not even while I was eating it! I’ve come so far… I’m almost cured!
    I’ve probably been to about a dozen sessions with Alexa, and now I am about 90% pain free. I’m no longer taking muscle relaxers or wearing that stupid mouth splint. I feel confident that continued treatment from Alexa will see me healed completely. She has been such a wonderful source of hope when I had all but given up… And the next time I have some ailment or other, instead of heading to the doctor’s office, I plan to see Alexa first thing.
​-JR, September 2012

MIGRAINE
I began going to Alexa after searching on the internet for a massage therapist – best find ever! I must admit I was a bit skeptical when she mentioned acupuncture for my migraines. I've had migraines for over 30 years and have never had much luck with any treatment. After several rounds of acupuncture and Chinese herbs with Alexa, I am now migraine free for the first time since high school.  Alexa is the most kind and caring person you'll ever know, and she genuinely cares about your health and making you feel better. I feel blessed to know her, not only because she has made me feel so much better, but because she is such a great person as well.
​-TJ, August 2012

"SHE CHANGED MY LIFE"
You always hear stories of inspiration from people whose lives were changed with a single moment or interaction. That moment for me was after my first session with Alexa Gilmore. I had been having chronic neck and shoulder pain for several years, and no one could offer me any substantial relief. After one session with her, I could not believe the difference she made. I continued to see her for the next few years, until I had to move away. Over time, she uncovered other issues that were deeper causes of my pain, and helped alleviate those as well. She taught me better body awareness and helped me deal with the physical and emotional trauma I endured during the loss of both of my parents. On top of all of this, she inspired me to go to massage school, hoping that I could one day do for others even a fraction of what she has done for me. She is a true model of what honorable people hope to be like. She is always professional, caring, and honest and constantly strives to increase her knowledge and professional skills, proving she is dedicated to being an integral part of your overall wellness. Putting yourself in her hands is one of the best things you could ever do for your health. So do it!
​-KS, July 2012

UPPER BACK AND SHOULDER PAIN
I visited Alexa after injuring myself at the gym (upright rows = bad news). I was on vacation at the time and in so much pain for days before getting home and into see her. From the moment you walk into ATX Acupuncture and Wellness, there's a palpable calmness. Upon meeting Alexa, you instantly see the calmness radiates from her. She is warm, friendly and a fantastic listener. This is all before the massage! Oh, the massage. We ended up not doing a full massage so she could focus on the injury. She has the perfect amount of pressure - it's as if she's completely in-tune with your body. I walked out of there super calm, super at ease and completely pain-free.  I can't wait to go back for acupuncture!
​-EM, June 2012

EMOTIONAL BALANCE
​Alexa has a very deep knowledge of and appreciation for the mind/body connection, especially helpful to me as I work through emotional issues which get in the way of being close to those that I love.  She is helping me to open up paths to wholeness which have been locked up since my childhood.  Thank you, Alexa!!
​-MR, June 2012

PREVENTIVE MEDICINE
I would highly recommend Alexa's services to anyone in seek of professional and personalized attention for massage therapy. I've seen her for massage therapy for more than 6 years and I'm a very active lady who puts my health and wellness above all. I've felt like Alexa is as much a part of my health and wellness environment as is the food I eat and the medical services I receive. Can't say enough good things about ATX Acupuncture and Wellness! 
-KF, June 2012

BACK INJURY
I suffered a soft-tissue back injury playing basketball with some old friends. I re-injured my back (much more severely) several weeks later while lifting weights. I suffered for about 4 weeks following the re-injury, thinking it would eventually heal on its own. My wife grew tired of my misery and made an appointment for me with Alexa. In ONE treatment (massage and acupuncture) I felt better than weeks of self-directed recovery. About a week after seeing Alexa a second time, feeling so good, I stupidly decided to lift a television for a neighbor in need. Guess what…I re-injured my back. I immediately contacted Alexa and begged her to see me. She worked her magic, and I gained weeks of recovery the same day. Alexa is a TRUE HEALER with a great soul. She, and ATX Acupuncture, come with my highest recommendations!
-AR, June 2012

CHRONIC LOWER BACK PAIN, QUALITY OF LIFE
Alexa is AMAZING.  I have been seeing her for massage therapy on a regular basis for almost a year and recently for acupuncture. She is incredibly professional and has an impeccable bedside manner.  My first visit to her office was for chronic lower back pain and after just a few sessions I noticed less pain and greater mobility.  She is incredibly good at relieving muscle pain and tightness especially after intense workouts and significantly improves recovery time.  She has made a difference in my quality of life.  I have not seen any other massage therapist or acupuncturist in Austin and never will, she's the best.
​-LB, June 2012

NECK PAIN, TMJ DYSFUNCTION
Alexa has a restorative approach that separates her from other therapists. It is hard to describe how meaningful a few sessions have been for me. She employs a combination of technical knowledge, years of practice, and a sincere desire to help people, and the results are unlike any other practitioner I've known. On two separate occasions, treatments have "unlocked" something that was previous stuck in my body-- once in my neck and just the other day in my jaw. During the intense session focused on addressing some chronic pain in my neck, after working on the problem area for almost an hour Alexa was able to release something that had been painful for years and I literally felt a warm stream of energy flow down my back and the pain has never come back to the same degree- even after periods of great stress. It was unlike anything I'd ever experienced prior. The second time, after a few sessions working to address the TMJ that has been slowly wearing away my teeth for years now, she managed to reach a very deep source of tension and afterward i actually felt like a bolt had been removed from each side of my jaw. It requires a few consecutive sessions to get those sorts of results and at times it almost feels uncomfortable in the moment, but it is well worth it. Alexa also provides nutritional or ergonomic advice when you ask, but keeps her suggestions realistic and constructive.
-BW, April 2012

PREVENTIVE HEALTH
I have been visiting Alexa for over eight years now and consider the time I spend with her an integral part of my overall well being. She is professional, very knowledgeable and extremely attentive to the aches, pains of life. I always leave a session feeling relaxed and at peace.
​-BP, June 2012

Highly recommended
I have been seeing Alexa from the beginning of her massage career, which adds up to several years now.  (Don't worry, she's still young and vigorous; she just got an early start.)  As is the case with many of her clients, I have come to rely on her for the best massage in town. And now that she has expanded her repertoire, I have started relying on her for other kinds of help, too. She is a jewel and I highly recommend that you add her to your collection of health-care professionals.​
​-VT, June 2012

Simply the best
​Alexa is the consummate profession​al.  Educated and focused, she continues to study and remain current with the most recent advances in health and wellness.  She is personable, patient and her attention to detail is both appreciated and respected.  Alexa's collaborative partnership with her clients involves active participation as she sincerely listens and implements the proper program tailored to your specific needs.  From the moment you walk into the office, you immediately experience her positive energy taking effect.  She's simply the best!
​-CN, June 2012

Part of my healthcare regimen
I have been seeing Alexa for more years than I can remember because she is THAT good. She is part of my healthcare regimen. First as a massage therapist and now, as a doctor of Chinese medicine. She is very intuitive and listens attentively. If one approach is not working for you, she has a back pocket full of 20 more. She is determined to improve your well-being. Can't say enough good things about her!
-MM, June 2012

Thanks for years of excellent work!
My husband and I have been enjoying wonderful massages from Alexa for the past 7 years. She is a wonderful welcoming person and an excellent masseuse. She is very attentive and always willing to suit the session to my specific needs. I highly and unconditionally recommend Alexa.  Thanks for years of excellent work!
-LH, June 2012

Best Massage Therapist around!
Alexa is the best massage therapist in town.  I have been a super-satisfied client for almost 2 years. I went to Alexa with severe neck and shoulder tension problems. I had been to physical therapy and several specialists with no luck. The pain was so bad that I had been living on pain meds and muscle-relaxers for over 3 years prior. Alexa was able to do what no one else could--she got rid of my pain!! After seeing her a few times, my pain had substantially decreased and I was able to stop my Rx regimen completely. She was able to work out some HUGE knots in my neck/back that were contributing to my pain. She simply is amazing. Not only is Alexa attentive to your needs while you are in her care, but she goes above and beyond to offer help/suggestions for things that you can do at home to help yourself. She adjusts your sessions as needed (or requested) and makes certain to focus on what you ask her to. She is very friendly and personable. I'm lucky to have found her!  -DI

​Fantastic bodywork, very professional and attentive
I'm a consistent client for more than two years. She is very professional, and her attention to detail made massage a fundamental part of my exercise training. Very good at making adjustments depending on your requests, and very good at tailoring her bodywork to your needs. Super thorough, and very invested in your health and well being. Best massage therapist I've seen, after seeing dozens over the past seven years. ​-azulin

​i tell people, "i love my  massage therapist!"
once i found alexa, i have not gone elsewhere for a massage. well, once i did go to massage envy b/c it seemed like a great deal but i learned once again you get what you pay for. i have not strayed from alexa since. some things i like about her is she is really down-to-earth and she has a calming and confident energy. i have felt comfortable with her from the beginning and she has some powerful hands! (her office space is also really cute) i highly recommend alexa and i won't be going elsewhere. ​-NG

​A great way to relax and rejuvenate
The first massage I got from Alexa was a gift from from my boyfriend, but I immediately became hooked on and kept coming back regularly. Alexa is a talented and very skillful massage therapist, and she also has a warm personality that makes me able to feel comfortable and fully relax during the massage. I particularly appreciate her skill in finding the tight knots in my shoulders, and her patience in working through them. I love the atmosphere in her room, the candles and the music, and her genuine desire to design the best possible massage for me. Strongly recommended! ​-tpenguin

​Excellent massage therapist
For six months Alexa kept me sane while I planned my wedding (in another town). I've had many massages, hers are superb. She can make the worst tight spots release. I suffer from TMJ and seeing her bimonthly made a difference in my overall health. I highly recommend her to anyone seeking to benefit from massage therapy. ​-EP

​Excellent masseuse
Alexa takes time to make sure each massage is tailored to your needs and preferences. She's very professional and personable and her massages are wonderful. I've had massages at some of the better known spas in Austin and Alexa's are on par or better than theirs but in a more private setting. I highly recommend that you give her a try. ​-RC

​Everything a massage should be
Alexa was recommended to me by a physical therapist. I had experienced some muscle pain while training for a marathon and needed to find a massage therapist who understood my needs and goals. Each time I would visit Alexa she would ask questions and listen to what I wanted worked on before she began each session. She used a variety of techniques depending upon which part of my body needed work, and she also recommended stretching exercises that I could use at home. I felt very comfortable with her and the massages really worked! Her office is very soothing and Alexa's manner is so calming that it doesn't matter what has happened during the day, by the time we are done I feel rejuvenated. I have been to several other massage therapists over the years, and although they were good I never quite felt that I got everything I needed (i.e. the therapist didn't quite understand what I wanted worked on, their energy was off, the office was chaotic,etc.) With Alexa you are sure to get Everything a massage should be! ​-kiwiwa

​Nothing less than 90 minutes for me!
I received a gift certificate two years ago for a massage with Alexa and it was the best gift I've ever received. Alexa is very professional and genuinely caring. She is very attentive to your needs and is extremely knowledgeable about the musckuloskeletal system. She has been able to calm some very hot trigger points and knots in my hips,low back and shoulders. Alexa is very nuturing and her knowledge of alternative medicine is a great help. Her enthusiasm about health has rubbed off on me and helped me to become more aware of my body and what it is telling me. I highly recommend Alexa and give gift certificates to my friends and family so they may experience the same well being. ​-kayaker10

Relief when you really need it
Alexa is great. She is awesome at deep-tissue and pressure massages. She also understands how busy schedules can be so my husband and I always appreciate how flexible she is with our hectic schedules. She is good at either setting up a regular schedule with you or like us she sees us almost every month but at various times. Not always easy to find someone walexa is the best, hands down! the environment is welcoming, relaxing, and unpretentious. the massage is the best i've had, she has strong hands, which can be hard to find in a female massage therapist. i can't get enough, and i always leave feeling like a million bucks for days to follow. you'll be hard pressed to find a better massage in austin!ho will work with your schedule. We really appreciate her customer service and her great massages. ​-sharmsbaby

best massage therapist ever!
alexa is the best, hands down! the environment is welcoming, relaxing, and unpretentious. the massage is the best i've had, she has strong hands, which can be hard to find in a female massage therapist. i can't get enough, and i always leave feeling like a million bucks for days to follow. you'll be hard pressed to find a better massage in austin! ​-doggirl18

Best for the body and mind
Alexa is professional and truely cares for the person's well being. I'm sure there are other good places in Austin to go for a theraputic massage but I cannot imagine any of them that has the care and concern for the whole person as Alexa does. I have been a client for over 3 years and was there in the early years. Her business has grown and it is obvious why that is. I promise you will walkaway with a wonderful, relaxed, healed feeling from Alexa. She is the best. ​-hink007

Best sports therapist
I run about 25 miles per week and regularly run half-marathons. I used to think that being tight, sore, and having knots were part of the price of running, especially for a guy of 56. My wife is a physiotherapist and at her prompting I decided to try massage a few years ago. I tried a few other therapists with modest results but then I met Alexa. What a difference! Tightness and knots gone. Running is easier and times are faster......... and it just feels good! I see Alexa once a month while training, and the week of, and the week following a race. She takes time before each session to ask about any particular "hot spots" and will give these areas more focus. I highly recommend her and anyone I have sent to her reports the same positive experience. ​-MC

Perfect for athletes
Out of the many sport-massages I have undergone by various masseurs/masseuses', I have been nothing less than thrilled with Gilmore Massage Therapy. Being an athlete myself, it is pertinent to keep my body free of injury and stress due to heavy training. Ms. Gilmore's expertise at assessing my sport-specific muscular complications is uncanny. I trust no one else with my body. I recommend Gilmore Massage Therapy not only as a relaxing mechanism to alleviate the hardships of daily life, but also to the athlete who requires the undivided attention of a superb sports massage therapist. She truly has healing-hands! ​-KD

Well worth the visit
Professional, gracefully meticulous and caringly attentive are only a few words to describe Alexa Gilmore's gifted massage abilities. I consider myself to be particular with regards to what I expect from a massage, and Alexa's precise manner and understanding of anatomy and muscular function are noteworthy. Often she will tackle my knot-riddled shoulders from many angles with numerous techniques to resolve the issues while I simply listen to the pleasing music and enjoy the downtime. I typically require a more determined massage, but I have also ventured to Alexa for a stress-relief relaxation session. Exceptional skills and well worth the visit. ​-JW

​superb massage
I moved to Houston a year ago and still try to find time to see Alexa whenever I am in Austin. Alexa does a great job of tailoring each massage to my needs that day. She always does pre-massage interview and if a particular muscle group needs extra care she will make sure it gets it. She is always thorough and attentive. I am happy to see her when I arrive and always leave feeling like a million bucks. ​-NB

​Fabulous Massage Therapist!  Make an appointment today!!
Alexa is not only a great therapist, very knowledgeable, intuitive, professional, but also a great person and for me that makes all the difference. She makes a genuine effort to find out not only what's going on with my body, but to understand something of what is going on in my life because, as she has shown me, the two are ALWAYS closely related. She is a kind and respectful person, very organized and at the same time very accommodating. Her e-newsletter is extremely informative and interesting. As a professional caregiver myself, I am grateful for Alexa because in working with me she reminds me of how important it is to care for and honor my own body. If you haven't done so already, call her today and set up an appointment!! You won't regret it!!!  ​-BP


​Very professional, experienced masseuse
I have a regular appointment on average every other week, for 90 minutes; So clearly I maybe biased, however I do highly recommend taking your first (or trying a new) professional massage With Alexa. One of the first things that struck me is the attention to detail. On my first visit a very complete history was taken, and before each session we discuss the current issue(s) that need to be addressed (and Alexa take notes..). Alexa works on the area that is giving me a problem, trying different techniques and approaches in order to address the issue. I have also had instances where a 'emergency' session was needed and Alexa was flexible and accommodating to fit me in. I've been to several individual therapist and the large spars in Austin and by far Alexa provides the best professional tailored treatment in Austin. ​-RG

 

Alexa Gilmore
LAc, MAcOM, LMT

Phone (207) 756-4301

Fax (866) 566-0298

What's your body telling you?
Let's find out.

CONTACT our office today.